Create a new account

It's simple, and free.

US and British Political System

United States The Constitution of the United States designates three main structures of government. The judiciary is charged with the country's legal system, interpreting and upholding the country's laws. The legislature, composed of the Lower House and the Senate, is composed of representatives who write the laws of the country. Finally, the executive branch runs the country's administrative needs. In the United States, the executive branch is headed by a president, who is elected directly by the American people. These elections are held separately from the elections for representatives in Congress. Furthermore, while the president is not vested with any direct legislative power by the Constitution, he or she may veto any laws that have been passed in Congress. This system of separate elections dates back to the presidential elections in 1789 (Brinkley A30). It is through this electoral period that the American government pursues a common "general will" of its constituents. In contrast to direct democracies such as Switzerland, where people vote in national referendums, the American people elect Congressional representatives and the President in two separate elections. This separation helps to maintain the system of checks and balances that prevents abuse on the part of either the executive government or the legislature. The United States legislature is composed of two bodies – the Lower House and the Senate. The Lower House or House of Representatives is composed of 435 members, who represent the various districts around the United States. Because the number of representatives depends on population, California has the greatest number of state delegates with 53 members. Sparsely populated states like Alaska, Vermont and Wyoming have only one representative each. The House of Representatives is divided into separate committees, where much of the debate takes ...

Related Essays:

APA     MLA     Chicago
US and British Political System. (1969, December 31). In Retrieved 18:29, July 04, 2015, from