John Piaget

Length: 1 Pages 266 Words

Jean Piaget’s Cognitive Theory Jean Piaget developed a theory that states that children develop cognitively through four developmental stages, sensorimotor, pre-operational, concrete operational, and formal. The first stage of the cognitive development theory is called the sensorimotor stage. This stage takes place from birth until the age of two. During the sensorimotor stage Continue...

More sample essays on John Piaget

    Quantitive Thinking In Adult Psychology
    .... Jean Piaget's Theory of Cognitive Development. Retrieved April 9, 2002 from Appendix A Problem John is .... (1477 6 )

    Adolescent Development - peers
    .... Theorists John Piaget and Harry Stack Sullivan stressed that it is through these interactions that children learn symmetrical reciprocity. .... (620 2 )

    Child Development
    .... As Jean Piaget did, I asked my cousins in Korea. ¡°What makes the trees move?¡± John, a nine-year-old answered, ¡°The wind.¡± I then asked him .... (2950 12 )

    Psychology Theoriests
    .... He built his theory off of those theorists such as Jean Piaget, John Dewey, and James Mark Baldwin who all shared the same idea that humans begin to grow .... (2392 10 )

    Constructivism in Education
    .... approach to education that has long been embraced by such infamous thinkers as Frobel, Freud, Erikson and its greatest contributors, Jean Piaget and John Dewey .... (2508 10 )

the infant learns by combining their senses (sight, sound, taste, touch, smell) with their motor skills. The pre-operational stage takes place from the ages of two years until the age of seven years. A child in the pre-operational stage has no sense of logic and is egocentric, they can only view the world through their own perspective The stage following pre-operational is called concrete operational. In the concrete operational stage the child is still using symbols, however; he is able to apply logic to the symbols. In this stage, the young adult is able to apply logic to abstract thinking. Piaget considered formal operational the final stage of cognitive development because it is the highest level of learning that the individual will achieve. The second stage of cognitive development is referred to as the pre-operational stage. The sensorimotor infant begins with basic reflexes, then develops the ability to use more complex manipulations of objects. Children in concrete operational do not act intuitively, they are able to use reasoning - provided that there are concrete examples. The final cognitive developmental stage is called the formal operational stage. The majority of their new learning involves the use of symbols, language, and their imagination. They are able to deal with complicated problems and apply reason.


Pope John Paul II and the Aging Process
been noted that age imposed cognitive and physical limits on John Paul: "Like Taking Piaget's stages of cognitive development as his point of departure, Riegel (3218 13 )

can be enhanced in children when we understand Piaget's different stages book Growing Critical: Alternatives to Developmental Psychology, author John R. Morss (2566 10 )

The film "Priest"
Piaget postulated two stages of moral development--moral realism, and moral relativism of what is known as the justice tradition started by John Locke, Immanuel (1664 7 )

Scaffolding as a Teaching Method
50-54. Campbell, Sarah. (1976). Piaget sampler: An introduction to Jean Piaget through his own words. New York: John Wiley. Flavell, J. (1963). (1493 6 )

Curriculum for Early Childhood Education
Piaget's last stage of play which is of concern to early childhood on early childhood education programs are Friedrich Froebel, Maria Montessori, and John Dewey (2666 11 )

Human growth and development throughout life. (3rd ed.). New York: John Wiley & Sons. New York State Journal of Medicine, 82(9), 1383-1386. Piaget, J. (1962). (1705 7 )