Comparing Piaget and Erikson

Length: 7 Pages 1712 Words

Comparing Piaget’s Stages of Cognitive Development to Erikson’s Stages of Social Development Child psychologist, Jean Piaget, believed that a person understands whatever information fits into his established view of the world. Piaget described four stages of cognitive development and related them to a person’s ability to understand. The Sensorimotor Stage occurs from birth to 2 years. It is during this stage that the child learns about his or herself and the environment around them by use of motor and reflex actions. The Preoperational Stage begins from about the time the child starts to talk to about age 7. With the child’s new knowledge of language, he is able to begin using symbols to represent objects and personify them as well. The Concrete Stage occurs from about first grade to early adolescence. The child has now developed an ability to make rational judgements. There is no longer the need to live in a fantasy world as much. The final stage in Piaget’s Cognitive Development is the Formal Stage. There is no longer the need for concrete obj Continue...

More sample essays on Comparing Piaget and Erikson

    Discuss the extent to which human beings are determined by t
    .... for example, the coexisting stage theories of Erikson and Piaget. Within the psychoanalytic perspective conflict exists when comparing Freud's original woks .... (1741 7 )

    Constructivism in Education
    .... such infamous thinkers as Frobel, Freud, Erikson and its .... by many educational theorists (Dewey, Piaget, Vygotsky, Bruner .... is best understood when comparing it to .... (2508 10 )

    nature versus nurture
    .... done studying the different theories and comparing this to .... The theories such as Piaget's are not focused on .... As the psychologists Erik Erikson has pointed out .... (2086 8 )

Piaget's stages from 2 years to 4 years, have the child living in a basic fantasy world. Now an adolescent, the child learns how to answer satisfactorily and happily the question of "Who am I Most boys and girls experiment with minor delinquency, rebellion, self doubts and so on. In conclusion, Piaget and Erikson see the development of children in 2 very different ways. Piaget believed that a person understood whatever information fit into his established view of the world. He is now capable of hypothetical and deductive reasoning. Stage 1, Learning Basic Trust Versus Basic Mistrust, is the period of infancy through the first one or two years of life. Stage 8, Integrity Versus Despair, occurs from 30-40 years. During this stage, the healthily developing child learns to imagine, to broaden skills through active play. Stage 6, Learning Intimacy Versus Isolation, occurs from 20-25 years of age. There are no similarities in the stages of these 2 men. Piaget and Erikson have very different views on the ways a child develops. During the ages of 16-18 years, Piaget's child is capable of synthesizing a wide range rational material. Erikson, however, feels that the child that is nurtured and loved, will develop trust, security and optimism. Badly handled, the child becomes insecure and mistrustful. While Erikson's stage, at this same age, has the child focused on himself.


Four Psychological Theories of Child Development
I would not agree with an entire program based upon Piaget because the emotional and Erikson, EH (1985). Comparing theories of child development, Third Edition (3179 13 )

According to Erikson (1968), the opinion of self the to-high degree of congruency when comparing the perceived self-image is rooted in Jean Piaget's notions of (3240 13 )

Male Sexual Offenders and Alternative Treatments
will be extracted from: Erik Erikson's (1968) psycho stages of human development; Jean Piaget's (1947) cognitive findings of the paper by comparing the positive (668 3 )

Early Childhood & Adolescent Development
Thus, Erikson points out that the preschool child is Cognitive Development Piaget presents stages of cognitive are more concerned with comparing themselves to (5891 24 )

Mental/Emotional Disorders in Children & Adolescents
While theorists as diverse as Freud, Erikson, and Piaget have speculated by gathering as much additional information as possible and comparing the sources (4435 18 )

Psychology: An Overview
sense of what is seen by comparing it with Piaget himself argued that development is a constant process of According to Erik Erikson, an individual undergoes a (4381 18 )